Who are we? Home    About AFoPS    Who are we?
The Asian Forum for Polar Sciences

The Asian Forum for Polar Sciences (AFoPS) is a non-governmental organization established in 2004
to encourage and facilitate cooperation for the advance of polar sciences among countries
in the Asian region.

The Forum consists of its 6 Members, national polar research institutions representing China, Japan, South Korea, India, Malaysia and Thailand. AFoPS also has 4 observers: Indonesia, Philippines, Sri Lanka and Vietnam.

Prof. Dato’ Dr. Azizan Abu Samah, Director of National Antarctic Research Centre (NARC), serves as the Chair of AFoPS for the next two years till 2022.